Coconino County · July 2025
One fatal pneumonic plague case. CDC published the investigation in October 2026; the infection occurred in July 2025.
This record describes a historical event. Its status reflects the linked source and does not establish current local transmission.
WHAT IS KNOWN
One fatal pneumonic plague case. CDC published the investigation in October 2026; the infection occurred in July 2025.
Reported figures
- Confirmed cases
- 1
- Suspected cases
- Not reported
- Plague deaths
- 1
Figures are limited to this event and its source, as of Oct 1, 2026. “Not reported” means the number is not established here; it does not mean zero. Contacts under observation are not counted as confirmed cases.
Source and location
PRIMARY SOURCEUS Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe map uses an approximate region-level location. It does not identify patient addresses or define an exposure zone.
Follow-up reporting
The source-linked briefs below document available reporting associated with this event. Status changes require new source evidence; the passage of time alone does not resolve an event.
CDC publishes investigation of Arizona’s July 2025 plague death
A new MMWR report examines an older fatal case and the response to possible exposures.
AP reports fatal pneumonic plague case in northern Arizona
Coverage of the July 2025 Coconino County announcement.